Waking up a few times middle of the night

I can’t sleep well lately . I go to bed 10pm but k auto wake 130am 3am 445am . I have 2 kids aged 8&5 . They wake around 630am
For day job I am an account manager who wears many hats some days can be stressful since I deal with clients and I need to ensure my numbers are nice by the deadline and monthly renewals .
Previously I started this magnesium supplement which help me to have deeper sleep but recently weeks the night waking came back again
Day time it led to more frequent headaches and I use Panadol extra to get by the day
I know the job demands , parenting young kids all piles up to a considerable amount of stress
Tried exercising , some nights I drink a bit to aid sleep but it was also the same waking up mid way to go toilet and I find it hard to get back to bed till my usual timing
What should I do to regain my usual sleep regime and been happy with myself again .
Thanks In advance for the advice

1 Like

Hi @user461, thank you for your question! It seems like you have a lot on your plate right now with responsibilities at home and at work. It is understandable that you would be facing quite a bit of stress. I hear that taking magnesium supplements no longer help as effectively and you are experiencing frequent headaches throughout the day more. If you have been experiencing the headaches more than twice weekly for the past couple of weeks to a month, I highly encourage that you seek medical advice on this. It is not normal for tension-headaches (i.e. stress headaches) to occur that frequently, especially if you are requiring painkillers for it often.

In the meantime, here are some suggestions might help improve your sleep and mood:

1. You may wish to try the 10-3-2-1 sleep method.
    10 hours before bed- no caffeine.
    3 hours before bed - no more food or alcohol.
    2 hours before bed - no more work.
    1 hour before bed - no more screen time.