Face to Face or Online Therapy?

Hey everyone :slight_smile:

In the age of digital connectivity, we have more options than ever for seeking therapy and mental health support. Virtual therapy (online sessions) and traditional face-to-face therapy each have their merits, but they also come with their unique set of considerations. As a therapist, I personally prefer face-to-face sessions as I need to observe the gestures and nonverbal expressions that I may “miss” if I’m doing online sessions. But of course I’m open to seeing clients virtually too, as some (for example, highly anxious clients or clients with phobias) may not be able to meet face-to-face.

I’m just wondering:

1. Have you ever tried virtual therapy, and if so, what was your experience like? Did you find it more convenient or felt that something was missing compared to in-person sessions?
  2. On the other hand, if you’ve had in-person therapy, what made that experience special for you? Did the personal connection with your therapist or the environment play a significant role in your journey?

Let’s share our thoughts and experiences on this topic. It’s a decision many of us might have to make at some point in our lives, and your insights can be incredibly valuable in helping others make informed choices when it comes to their mental health.

Remember, the most important thing is to seek help when needed, regardless of the format. So, which style of therapy resonates with you, and what has worked best in your mental health journey? Share your thoughts, and let’s learn from each other’s experiences! :blush:

1 Like

I’ve tried both in-person and virtual sessions. I personally prefer in-person because I tend to get emotional and a lot of times I would end up crying and one thing that my counsellor used to do that was comforting and touching was to grab tissues and help me wipe my tears and she’ll comfort me by patting me on my back. The physical contact helped a lot :slight_smile:

2 Likes