It’s been 2 years

I’ve been worrying over something for 8 years, but only the last 2 years have i been worried over this issue every single day. Every night the worry gets the better of me and i start sobbing uncontrollably, i wake up with my bed sheets wet due to sweat, my nail peeling and the numbing feeling in my head is getting worse. Nowadays i can’t hold a conversation with the people around me due to the urge of crying and js trying to compose myself. My brain finds new things to worry obsess over and it found a new one recently and it is hindering me if any energy to focus on my work. I’ve thought about the sleeping pills on my bed frame some nights when my brain gets too noisy but i think about how selfish i’m being to my parents so i stop.

I cannot get through the day without checking if i’m still anxious over whatever i’m anxious about. Each time i check myself, it gets worse and it ruins my mood and nowadays i just sleep without doing work. The noms i once read is not as enjoyable anymore and i can’t distract myself with music anymore. I’m scared of my brain now pls help

2 Likes

Hi Potatonparsley,

Thank you for reaching out and sharing about your experience. It must have been really overwhelming being plagued by worries and anxious thoughts every single day. You mentioned sobbing uncontrollably at night when the ‘brain gets too noisy’; and losing the ability to focus on tasks or to do things that you used to enjoy. I can imagine how difficult the experience has been for you and I’m so glad that you managed to find this platform to talk about it.

Firstly, while your worrying may seem or feel like a constant in your life, know that such tendency is a mental habit that can be altered. You can train your brain to tame the anxious thoughts and regain control over the situation. Here are a few steps that you may try: