A Little Taboo: Questioning Gender Identity

Since queer sexual orientation and gender identity is gradually being accepted, I’d thought I’d share my emotions for the past few weeks.

I’ve been questioning the constructs for about two to three years? I’m not quite curious about my sexuality as it doesn’t really matter in this part of my life. However, I have been questioning my gender because I haven’t been feeling like mine. In fact, I’ve tried to cut my hair short but due to my hair type, I cannot make it the way I wanted. I had a nervous breakdown about it because “If I can’t express who I am, then what’s the point of living?”. I think that rippled into a series of other nervous breakdowns about their individual topics. The latest being whether I can handle life’s challenges if I’m so upset at the moment.

Now, I’m not sure what my gender identity is, believe me I tried, but I’ve been trying to express it. It’s very difficult since I’m doing a complete 180°, I’m more comfortable in the opposite genders’ clothing and uniforms are so restricting. I haven’t told anyone much about my pronouns and stuff because I’ve told some people, and only two of them use them.

So I’ve got two questions (if you take time to read):

1. How can I express my gender in the limited places I can?
2. How do I stop my breakdowns?

To the person who does read my story and answer my questions, I appreciate you very much and thank you in advance for caring enough to concoct solutions. Thank you again. Warm love and regards from Jay.

2 Likes

Dear @JayHyjinx,

Thank you for sharing your feelings and experiences with us. It sounds like you’ve been questioning your gender identity for some time now, and that this process has been difficult and overwhelming for you. I want you to know that we are here to support you as you navigate this journey.