How do I get over artist block?

For the past few months, I haven’t been drawing at all. I have been avoiding my sketchbook because I am deeply dissatisfied with my work. However, I want to draw because I always love expressing myself through art. How do I get over this artist block? How do I stop being afraid of artist mistakes?

2 Likes

Good evening, having an artist block is perfectly normal :). I’m not an artist myself. I barely even draw. But I think art is so unique because there is no right or wrong. That is always why you loved it in the first place, right?
Cause it allowed you to freely express your feelings.
Just take it slow, no rush. Everything will be just fine. I believe in you. :heart:

1 Like

Hello! as someone who is a creative myself, i relate to this so so much! artist blocks happen to be all the time, and here are some ways i realise help me a lot in the process:

1. Trust the process- really!
it doesnt matter whether u make mistakes or not, art is a creative process, and sometimes u need to really trial and error before u find an idea/ medium/ method/ style you like. just trust the unknown, and this tends to work for me!

2. Free-writing/ free-brainstorming/ free- ideating
I just write anything and everything i want, with no inhibitions, in my sketchbook and see what comes out of it. by writing things down, i tend to be better able to make random, but unique connections across different ideas, and come across a concept that I have never, but want to explore!

3. Exercise/ take a walk

• as a break
  • maybe you can find some inspiration from the people you see on the streets!

4. get inspiration from other artists

• your classmates, instagram, digital artists, exhibitions, galleries, videos, movies, the possibilities r endless!

5. Keep an idea bank