I am afraid of sleep

I’ve never experienced any problems during sleep, but I’ve recently I’ve just been too afraid to. I’m afraid I’ll die in my sleep, or get sleep paralysis, or have a bad nightmare. It’s gone to the point where I purposely avoid sleep and dread the build up towards it. Please help. (15M)

3 Likes

Hi! Thanks so much for sharing, it is really couragous of you to do so :D! I hear that you are really worried about sleeping and that must have been really difficult to deal with. Although I am not a professional, if I were you, I may choose to visit the doctor about it and see what help I can get. Maybe something you can look into is why you may have these problems in your sleep - could be due to stress? Overwhelming thoughts? Maybe you could look more into it! Jiayou!

3 Likes

It does sound like you may have anxiety, which I would definitely recommend seeing a doctor/psychologist to treat. Some things that I find can help is having a wind-down routine that helps you to calm down before sleeping, such as not using devices for an hours before sleeping, doing reading/meditation/journaling or breathing exercises. Additionally do take note of any stress you may experience and negative thoughts and you can slowly address them, by asking yourself of any possible reasons you may have this fear. You could think of sleep as recharging your energy and preparing you for the next day which can help you with understanding it’s importance and help to prevent avoiding sleeping due to the many health issues you may face from sleep deprivation. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Dear user 1195,

I am sad to hear about the distress you have been experiencing around sleep. First, let me assure you this is quite common and most of us experience different types of fears about sleep from time to time.

Through taking steps, I am confident you would be able to reduce the fear. I think you are courageous in seeking help, and I see it as a good first step! Well done :slight_smile: