Parents fat shaming, grades

Ive noticed ive been feeling down alot more than usual lately. Im a secondary two student. Ive never had high grades, and my usual grades are around 50-60, 70-80 at max during special occasions since i started secondary school. Recently, i have found myself feeling worse and worse as the days go by and i usually only find comfort in my friends and my online comics, etc. Last year, my parents were not too strict on me as i was still adapting to secondary school life, but at the start of this year, since weighted assesments have just started, they have put alot of pressure on me. Im in a class of 31 students, and they expect me to be top 10 for all my subjects. All 8. I dont have the heart to study but i still try my best, although my best isnt very great either. I am especially weak at math and science, and the weighted assesments for those two subjects have been quite hard. This led to me getting more stressed and eating a bunch of junk food and getting heavier. Since it was also the chinese new year period, i have gained a few kg of weight and my parents have started pointing it out infront of relatives and friends, so i often feel insecure about my body. I am actually quite light for my height(the bmi thingies) and i could already be considered close to underweight/ going to become underweight. Since my mother is severely underweight, everyone compares me to her and have started calling me fat. Ive been trying to work out. When we took height and weight in school, i always tried to peek at my friends weights and they are often lighter than me, making me feel more insecure than i already am. I try not to look and make myself feel bad but i cant. I only find happiness in talking to my friends in school and reading comics online, but sometimes i really dont want to live anymore. Maybe its my fault for not trying hard enough.

5 Likes

Mannnn I hear you’re going through a lot and have a lot on your mind now…