Anxious over long career break

Hi, I am a university graduate who have been unemployed for a year as I wanted to take a break from burn outs and to focus on my mental wellbeing… Initially, I wanted to take only 3 months but slowly it became longer and now dragged to one year… I mean, it seems normal and honestly one year is actually alot of time to do what i want, be it to lose weight or improve my mental health, but the truth is, none of it happened. I know I shouldnt compare, but i always feel pressured that my peers are already securing a job, leading their wonderful life while I am still like stuck here. And unlike those who took a gap year to develop themselves by going volunteering or really go on a self-discovery journey, my life is basically waking up, be on social media, eat and back to sleep. Even waking up becomes difficult as i take 1 hour to get out of my bed. But if you ask me, I still have no motivation to find a job but i do feel like a letdown and i feel shameful of myself for being in this condition. Nowadays, I feel more anxious as 1 year is coming up and I have no idea what to give when employers were to ask “so what have you been doing this 1 year”. I often feel anxious and i do kinda dislike myself for being in this state and slowly i drift away from my friends as i realise i develop toxic feelings towards them due to my enviness. Therefore i really need help and advice on dealing with such things, and also some word of comfort as well :slight_smile: Thank you for reading~

Hi @anonymous274

Thank you for taking time to share your struggles with us here. It does take a lot of courage and strength to be so open with your feelings, and I would like to affirm you for that.