Grieving and Crying

First of all, I am new to this. Apologies if I am not posting this right.

Secondly, going through the posts, I figure there are a lot of young participants here. Don’t know if there are any adults here who can relate to grief.

My dad died when I was 9. My mom told me I didn’t shed a tear.

I don’t cry at wakes or funerals.

However, 2 years back, after the passing of one of my close friends, I noticed that I would shed tears when I was doing computer work. Dismissed it at first that I was staring too hard at the screen but things didn’t get better.

Later that year, another ex-colleague passed on and it was when I started getting depressed and started hallucinating.

Long story short, I have seen counsellor, psychologists and psychiatrists over close to 2 years.

Despite SSRI and being discharged when hallucinations stopped, I still don’t feel that I have gotten over this.

I was brought up as a stoic. Constantly told that men don’t cry. Even if I intellectually understand that crying can be cathartic, somehow my body tenses up and refuses to do so.

How does one manage grief without tears?

2 Likes

Hello @Notearsformula,

Thanks for coming on and sharing about your struggles. First off, there’s nothing to apologise about the way you post in this community - we’re here to listen and hope you feel supported, especially with what you’ve gone through.

I think it takes a lot of courage to open up and seek professional support when it comes to dealing with grief; more so when your existing coping skills appear to be overwhelmed. I also hear you about your beliefs and upbringing that continue to shape the way you perceive things, and how it manifests in your body reactions and negative feelings - I think that what you felt going through what you experienced in the way you knew how to - is valid. :people_hugging: