How “seeking help” can give you brain damage and cause you to suicide

I want to share my story about how I am probably going to have to die by suicide, and it is because of the mental health system.

I was a perfectly fine uni student in 2017 but overloaded on mods. I bumped into a professor and asked him how I could drop a module. He promptly referred me to the counselling centre (yeap, sound like he was doing the right thing right?).

So I went to the counselling centre thinking it was some process to drop mods, the counsellor helped me with breathing exercises etc. Third consult, he arranged me to go to the GP. I was offered some white pills, which he said was for sleep and anxiety. I wasn’t told about how it worked or that it could cause so much harm. So I used it for a month.

But after, I started getting very anxious, panic attacks, couldn’t sleep for a week, heart palpitations, tinnitus. I went to the private psych and asked if it could be the meds. Instead the psychiatrist said it’s not bad that I had a new anxiety disorder (wtf) and was given Lexapro. Just one pill and I smashed a chair.

Nothing helped so I went to NUH as inpatient. There again I insisted it’s the meds, again the doctor dismissed it. There I got drugged further with meds for 5 days and at one point my tongue became paralyzed.

When I was discharged, I couldn’t leave the bed as I was still getting heart palpitations, restless legs syndrome, hypnic jerks when falling asleep. 5 months off suddenly things got, worse after not sleep for 5 days. I developed severe pain in the chest, and wanted to kill myself. I went to the hospital and because of lack of bed was shunted to IMH where things escalated further. My face briefly went numb and suddenly my ■■■■■■■■ when numb and tingling permanently (neuropathy). Yes, I suddenly became permanently impotent.