im confused

hi this is my first time writing here, im confused on how this works but i really need help

first of all, right now im in a 5 month relationship with my now bf, i was in a pretty toxic relationship back then with my ex of 2 years

basically, my ex would grope me, threathen to unalive himself if id leave him, cheat on me countless of times then lying to me about it, manipulate me and even gaslit me into thinking that i was in the wrong after we broke up

i was heartbroken and traumatized by that event, but my childhood best friend (my now bf) helped me get through all the traumatic events i have had in my life, hes a total green flag, but now i am worrying that now i am the red flag

i am not using my trauma as an excuse, but i have been always overthinking alot of things and im having major trust issues with my now bf, and weve been through alot of fights because of it, i have been thinking that hes not been prioritizing me,etc. and now our relationship is really rocky and he asked to break up today, i managed to convince him not to but im not sure how im going to handle this

i honestly just want to heal at this point but i dont know how, i want to trust people again and not having any distress with people touching me all of a sudden or overthinking that much, because honestly i dont want this relationship to fall because of my trauma.

thank you

3 Likes

(post deleted by author)

2 Likes

Hi @sm1

Thank you for sharing with us your troubles here, I hear you and I’m so sorry to hear about the pain and trauma you’ve endured in your past relationship. It sounds incredibly difficult to have experienced such toxic behavior from your ex-partner. I can see that these experiences have left deep scars and are impacting your current relationship with your boyfriend.