Is this normal?

Job hunting for 5 months but still unable to secure a full time position suited for myself. really burnt out from applying and unsure of which career pathaway is suited for me. A lot of emotions involved from rejections and interviews. Real imposter syndrome and feel like not cut out for corporate world and adulting. Job hunting is emotionally exhausting and draining.

Dear @Mentalhealth60, I can understand the stress and anxiety you are going through. Is this your first job out of school? I can share my own experience when I graduated out of uni. I studied social science & business and always found research work to be interesting. So I thought I will try find a job in a market research company because it combined my interest and training. I applied to a few global market research firms, got interviews with some, was rejected by some, and I did finally get accepted to one company. The first week in the company was training. After the first day, I knew this wasn’t a job for me but I stayed for the week. I quit thereafter and knew in my heart then that I needed to do something aligned to my passion. I knew myself better through this experience - I knew that I was someone who has little patience for “working” but am motivated to do good and improve society. So I switched my focus completely and looked for social services and government jobs. And I was hired into one agency and had the most fulfilling first career.

It can take anywhere between 3 months to 8 months to find a job, depending on the sector and your level of experience. Don’t give up hope! The right job will find you. I encourage you to speak with a career coach (look at WSG site) or an older working adult whom you look up to to seek inspiration and direction. They could give you input on your CV, give you tips on interviewing and dressing, and maybe point out jobs which are aligned to your skills and passion.