Mental health education in Singapore

Been really upset with how the education system is like in Singapore. How the whole culture goes around the “you are just stressed. Feelings are lame.” If we were all taught in school better all about feelings and how to manage our emotions, it would really be a better place in the whole world. Schools aren’t teaching relevant topics and whenever something is implemented, it’s usually not helpful to students at all. And it all starts from young. And teachers being able to manage themselves better too because that’s how we all learn. From the adults in our world. Sadly, that’s not how it works in Singapore and it’s frustrating to see

3 Likes

I hear you, @user88512. Are you still in the education system or are you recounting past experiences?

Culture is something built over time but any immediate ideas on what we could do to change?

Hi. Thanks for your reply! Wasn’t expecting any. I am a self employed teacher. I teach music in secondary schools. Adult private students. And relief teaching for preschools. I have seen students of all ages. And I think a good start would be from preschool. But it’s tough as ECDA can afford to do better. I have seen lots of horror stories happening real life and tried my best to help , but it wasn’t taken very seriously and all they wanted to do was to cover up. And they took 7 months to investigate an abuse case and told me to keep mum about it. It’s rubbish.