What are narcissistic behaviours like in real life?

emotional manipulation? dysfunctional relationships? i feel like i can never live up to others in terms of how ‘normal’ my relationships are. or am i just overthinking? i don’t know

2 Likes

You can look up Cinema Therapy on youtube they explain mental health and wellbeing in an interesting way using movie characters.

For context Johnathan Decker is a Licensed Family and Relationships Therapist in the US and his co-host Alan Seawright is a director.

They have a couple of videos on narcissistic movie characters and other interesting topics from various movies as well.

However I do recommend to do more research or seek professional help to get better context and a more complete picture as everyone has unique circumstances and a professional might be able to help you sort some of these thoughts out.

Hope this helps :+1:t2:

Disclaimer Im not a professional haha just someone interested in mental health and wellbeing :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi @anonymous07

I hear you, and it’s completely understandable that you’re struggling with these thoughts and feelings. It’s actually very common for us to question the dynamics of our relationships and wonder if they measure up to some perceived standard of “normalcy.” Please know that everyone’s journey and experiences in relationships are unique, and there is no one-size-fits-all definition of what is considered normal :slight_smile:

Emotional manipulation and dysfunctional relationships can be complex and emotionally draining. If you’re feeling this way, it’s valid, and your emotions deserve acknowledgment.