What is wrong with me? What can I do to change

Im sorry if it’s disorganised because I’m just typing straight out of my brain. I’ll explain things in chronological order till whatever I’m going through now

I’m a uni student, Y2 this upcoming sem but since Y1S2, I lack the motivation to study like I want to, but when it comes to watching lectures, my brain just could not sit still and focus. Random thoughts will just come in my head and I just gotta do something else. I changed environment and got a study buddy but it remains. I ended up failing two modules.

Moving on to sem break. It was a 3 months sem break and I did not leave home for more than 14 days in total. I couldn’t bring myself up to even go out to buy food. My hobby was reading novel and I could focus on a novel for a long time before. Now I couldn’t even go through one page before my mind starts wandering.

I kept telling myself I will go out more and when the time comes, I dread going out. Just stepping out of the house feels tiring to me.

Being at house all days means I didn’t talk to anyone. I severely lack social interactions but I couldn’t even bring myself to reply to my friends because it drains my social battery.

Nothing seems interesting anymore and I just feel nothing all day. No happiness, no sadness, just nothing. I go through my day numb and I just couldn’t bring myself out of it.

I also recently started watching my weight so with the restriction although mild, it took out my joy of enjoying food. It wasn’t too bad for now, but I definitely feel the effect creeping on me.

I just want to change and do well in school again but I couldn’t bring myself out of this chaotic but numb headspace. What is wrong with me and how can I change?

1 Like

Hi @user1273,

Thank you for sharing what’s been going on with you. I can tell that you’re going through a really difficult time, and I want to acknowledge how much courage it takes to open up about these struggles.