am i just being dramatic?

i think i’ve always had issues with friend groups where i get easily overwhelmed or triggered with my emotions so i started learning how to take time away to calm down before i return back to the friend group. it sounds bad at first but it’s really just so i can “protect” my friends from the severity of what i’m feeling because they’re not comfortable with heavy topics unless it revolves around gossip about people they know. i’ve had instances where this coping mechanism has backfired on me very badly and i’ve lost friends (now reunited) that were really close to me. now it just seems like the same thing is happening again and i don’t know if it’s a “me” issue…