Feeling like a failure

So right now I’m a full-time student. Was working full-time as well but my contract wasn’t renewed because the company wasn’t comfortable with the idea that I’m a full-time student when they found out. Right now, I’m just in this flux - I’m studying but feel like I need to do more than graduate with a conventional degree. All my friends seem to be doing so well and I just feel so behind and inadequate.

How do people work through this feeling of inadequacy in a society that only values income, educational qualifications and occupational prestige?

3 Likes

Hello @Eatmahpuff thanks for sharing! It’s completely normal to feel the weight of societal expectations, especially when comparing yourself to others. Remember that everyone’s journey is unique, and it’s okay not to follow a conventional path. Instead of focusing solely on income and occupational prestige, consider identifying your passions and strengths. Pursuing personal growth and finding fulfillment in what you do can be more rewarding than conforming to external expectations. Reflect on your achievements, both big and small, and recognize that your journey is valid and valuable. Embrace the idea that success is subjective and can take various forms. You’re doing great! :muscle:

3 Likes

Hello @Eatmahpuff I used to have strong feelings of inadequacy like I was lagging behind alot of people too but after awhile I realised that it’s okay to do things at your own pace.
Everyone has a different path and that’s okay what’s important is that I try to be better than I was yesterday. :slight_smile:

I like this quote from Mark Manson , “I am good enough, but I can always be better” To me this means being happy with the present while striving to be better.

So like what @QLT said take some time to recognise your achievements and remind yourself that you are on your own journey

1 Like