i dont know what to do anymore

im not sure if im just too sensitive or am i actually getting ill treated. my boyfriend attends to me when im upset but he is always so passive aggressive and it makes me feel like i shouldnt even be sharing my emotions with him… but he argues by telling me that i show him attitude when im upset so that it’s justifiable when he does that.

2 Likes

Hi!! @hestat I’d first like to thank you for your courage to share your struggles!! I’m proud of you :blush: (sorry long read >-<)

Now this is just my opinion, I’m not a professional. I don’t believe it justifies his passive aggression. Personally I believe, if he’s upset about how you treat him he should be frank and communicate that with you rather than try to in a sense ‘hit you with your own medicine’ or ‘payback’ by being passive aggressive.

However, it’s indeed harmful for you to show attitude whenever you have issues because as much as possible you should try to refrain from venting your frustrations on your loved ones. In addition, his passive aggressiveness is unfortunately, from my experience, a common reaction? It’s hard to seek comfort from someone you’ve hurt because they’ll struggle to empathise with you especially if they didn’t do anything for you to hurt them.

This is what works for me but, when I’m facing issues I’d tell my partner not exactly explain the situation but just tell them something happened and give them a heads up that I can be quite irritable at the moment. But if they care to listen, when I’m ready and a bit more collected (where I’m sure I won’t vent on them) I’d recount what happened and ask for their opinion.

I hope what I’ve shared has helped you in any way! :>

1 Like

Oh! and pls don’t hesitate to @ me if you wanna hear more or need to clarify anything! :blush:

1 Like